Time for Action

Have you ever needed to make a change? If so, I understand. Years ago, I waited for God to give me a new job. I wanted my two-minute prayer to be followed by a phone call with a wonderful offer.

While I waited for the miracle, I prayed and read the Word. One morning, I was drawn to Matthew 7:7–“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened unto you.”

I was struck by the words “ask, seek, knock” and realized those are verbs of action. My action. I was doing plenty of asking, but the seeking and knocking I had left to God.

Then I read the healing in Luke 17. As Jesus was on His way to Jerusalem, he encountered ten lepers.

They called to Him, “Jesus, Master, have pity on us.”

Jesus replied, “Go show yourselves to the priests.”

If I had been one of those lepers, I would have wanted a discussion.

“Uh, Lord, I know how this works. First, you heal me, then I go to the priests. They proclaim I’m healed, and I return to society.”

None of the lepers had my mindset, though. The rest of verse 14 contains seven powerful words: “And as they went, they were healed.”

They didn’t debate healing. They didn’t take two steps and say, “Well, that didn’t work.” They started their healing journey. “And as they went, they were healed.”

So just as the lepers had to take action, so did I. Thus, I followed up my prayers with these biblical truths and made calls and followed leads. And I landed happily.

How about you? What action do you need to take after you pray?

About sandrapaldrich

Sandra P. Aldrich, author and popular speaker, loves the Lord, family and all things Appalachian. Isaiah 41:9-10
This entry was posted in lepers, Matthew 7:7, perseverance, prayer, single mothers, single parenting, unemployment. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time for Action

  1. Kathy Cichon says:

    It has been said that “There are NO accidents.” It has also been said that, “We are all exactly where we are suppose to be.” I’m not really sure who it is who starts those sayings, and I am pretty sure that I have fought against them for years, but this morning I realized that they were right. While I have no idea who the “they” are, I know without a doubt, that your words were meant to be seen by my eyes this at 8:50 a.m. this morning. Having quit my full-time job last November….a truly stupid move in a struggling Michigan economy….I have been asking, begging, looking and demanding for my next step. I NEED a job. I WANT a job. Well Kathy….get off your lazy behind, and seek, and knock, and ask. Thank you “they”…..whomever you are.

    Like

    • Hi, Kathy. Thank you for your comment–and for letting me know you are ready to step forward. Even as I send this reply, I’m praying for you. I remember your smile, your perseverance from that long-ago classroom, and I know good things are ahead. Warm hugs across Colorado’s cold miles!

      Like

Leave a Reply

