A Perfect Rainy Day Dessert

Dosha's whole buttermilk pie

I hope you are enjoying a lovely summer. But where is the time going? Here we are heading toward the end of July already. Lately, Colorado has been experiencing more than its share of thunderstorms, so I often have to turn off my computer. That just gives me an excuse to bake another Appalachian dish from Zetta’s Coal Camp Recipes that’s due out later this summer.

For those of you who have read Zetta’s Dream: An Appalachian Coal Camp Novel, you know the young wife and mother, Zetta Berghoffer, spends long hours cooking for her miner husband, Asa, and her two miner brothers, Loren and Luttrell. Her plump red-haired neighbor, Dosha Conley, enjoys cooking for her husband, Jack—and sharing her wonderful buttermilk pie with friends.

During a recent storm, I baked Dosha’s simple but yummy pie. Now I want to share the recipe with you. I hope you enjoy the rich dessert as much as I do. And if you prepare it, please let me know what YOU think. Hugs across the miles! #SAldrich_ZettasDream.

Dosha’s Buttermilk Pie

3 eggs beaten

1 cup sugar

1 stick butter, melted

1-1/2 Tablespoons flour (high altitude cooks will add 3 Tbs. flour)

½ cup buttermilk (or add a dash of vinegar or lemon juice to regular milk)

1 teaspoon vanilla

Pinch of salt

Unbaked pie shell

Blend first 7 ingredients together.

Bake in unbaked pie shell at 325 degrees for about 45 minutes or until firm. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About sandrapaldrich

Sandra P. Aldrich, author and popular speaker, loves the Lord, family and all things Appalachian. Isaiah 41:9-10
This entry was posted in Appalachia, Book: Zetta's Dream, Kentucky, old-time desserts. Bookmark the permalink.