Warm Blackberry Cobbler for a Cold Day

000_FullSizeRender

Most of the nation is enjoying spring blossoms now, but this morning I awakened to snow in my Colorado yard. Thus, a warm Kentucky cobbler is a perfect dessert for a day like today.

Large, juicy blackberries grow wild in the Appalachian mountains and are a welcome fresh fruit summer treat. Additional plump berries are preserved as jam or canned in glass jars for winter use.  The only drawbacks to the berry picking are the large thorns on the brambles and the snakes that linger under the low-hanging bushes. During my childhood when I picked berries with my mother and siblings, I was the only one who saw a snake at every picking. Thankfully, I saw only one each time. Once I saw the snake, then I could get serious about gathering the prized berries.

Zetta, the main character in my novel Zetta’s Dream, would have prepared meals on a coal-burning stove—like the other women in the early 1920s coal camp. When the women traded recipes, the final instruction would have been “cook until done.” Thus, when I collected the 29 authentic recipes for the book Zetta’s Coal Camp Recipes, I occasionally added modern cooking instructions and/or hints for cooks using today’s stoves. I hope you enjoy this modern version of a vintage dessert.

Zetta’s Blackberry Cobbler

5 to 6 cups blackberries (or any variety of berries or chopped large fruit—fresh or canned)

2 cups all-purpose flour

½ cup sugar

4 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

½ cup cold butter

1 cup milk 

Topping:

2/3 cup sugar

¼ cup cornstarch

1 ½ cups boiling water

Arrange fruit evenly in the bottom of a 13-in. x 9-in. x 2-inch lightly greased baking pan.

In a bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt; cut in butter until crumbly.

Stir in milk. Spoon batter over fruit.

Combine sugar and cornstarch; sprinkle over batter. Pour water over all.

Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes.

Enjoy with cold milk or your favorite ice cream flavor.

Zetta’s Dream (http://bit.ly/Zettas-Dream) and Zetta’s Coal Camp Recipes are available via amazon.com

 

About sandrapaldrich

Sandra P. Aldrich, author and popular speaker, loves the Lord, family and all things Appalachian. Isaiah 41:9-10
This entry was posted in Appalachia, Book: Zetta's Dream, Coal Camps, Kentucky, old-time desserts. Bookmark the permalink.